Collage Serie Hiragana

ひらがな

Since the beginning of 2017, I have been learning the Japanese syllabary hiragana. I have a special interest in Japanese culture. I have been exploring Japanese characters and language. The syllabary hiragana inspires me. It is sign, image and content. The basic set of hiragana syllables formerly consisted of a set of 50 characters, of which 46 are still in use today. They are listed in a table.
From this resulted the collage series “46 Hiragana”.
As backgrounds, I used archive photographs of my own drawings. The sheets of paper are 30 cm x 20 cm each (with minimal deviations). When learning the syllabary, you write the hiragana in proportion in square grids.

I drew this grid with a ballpoint pen on photographic paper. For every single hiragana I worked out a composition. I used different Japanese papers and dry transfer lettering in Latin script.

I am interested in the fixed sequence of writing, of drawing. In Japanese, all characters are subject to a fixed sequence of strokes. I was touched by the meditative, perfectionist, aesthetic and graphic qualities. The beauty created by austerity.

My aim was to create a connection between the two writing cultures. The basis of which is one of my drawings. Both scripts stand in contrast to each other, yet they meet in a pictorial statement. The collage as a written image.

all artistic works of the series, 46 Hiragana 

       Hiragana he
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana so そ
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana ne  
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana u
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana tsu
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana ku
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana yu
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana a
       collage on archive photography
       30x20cm
       2017

Collage Serie Hiragana

ひらがな

Seit Anfang des Jahres 2017 erlerne ich die japanische Silbenschrift Hiragana. Mein besonderes Interesse gilt der japanischen Kultur. Ich habe mich mit den japanischen Schriftzeichen und der Sprache auseinandergesetzt. Die Silbenschrift „Hiragana“ inspiriert mich als Zeichen, Bild und Inhalt. Der Grundstock an Hiragana-Silben besteht aus einem Satz von ehemals 50 Zeichen, von denen heute noch 46 im Gebrauch sind. Sie werden tabellarisch gelistet.
Es entstand die Collage Serie „46 Hiragana“.
Als Grundlagen dienten mir vorhandene Archivfotographien auf denen eigene Zeichnungen abgebildet sind. Die Größe der Papiere sind jeweils in minimaler Abweichung 30 cm x 20 cm. Beim Erlernen der Silbenschrift werden quadratische Gitter gezeichnet in denen proportional die Hiragana geschrieben werden.

Dieses Gitter wurde von mir mit dem Kugelschreiber auf das Fotopapier gezeichnet. Zu jeden einzelnen Hiragana erarbeitete ich eine Komposition. Ich verwendete verschiedene Japanpapiere und Abriebbuchstaben der lateinischen Schrift.

Mich interessiert der feste Ablauf des Schreibens, des Zeichnens. Alle Schriftzeichen unterliegen im Japanischen einer festgelegten Strichfolge. Das Meditative, Perfektionistische , Ästhetische und Grafische fand ich berührend. Die durch Strenge erzeugte Schönheit.

Mein Anliegen war eine Verbindung aus beiden Schriftkulturen zu schaffen. Deren Grundlage einer meiner Zeichnungen ist. Beide Schriften stehen im Kontrast und sollen doch eine Bildaussage. Die Collage als Schriftbild.

Gesamtwerk 46 Collagen 

       Hiragana he
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana so そ
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana ne  
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana u
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana tsu
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana ku
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana yu
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017

       Hiragana a
       Collage auf Archivfotografie
       30x20cm
       2017